Next event: 11th July 2019 | 6:00pm-00:00am | University of Bolton Stadium | Bolton

Latest News

July 13th 2017

E3 Business Awards 2017 – Winners Announced

The 2017 E3 Business Awards evening took place on Thursday 13th July at the Macron Stadium in Bolton. The winners were announced in front of an audience of over 500 business delegates from across the North West. There were seventeen award categories in all.

To secure their places, all the finalists had been judged by an independent panel of twenty-three business managers, entrepreneurs and support professionals. In a two-stage process, the panel evaluated the initial written submissions and then held interviews with each of the shortlisted candidates.

Speaking on behalf of 1 Events Media, Managing Director Mubarak Chati thanked the judges and paid tribute to the “invaluable contribution that businesses, charities and entrepreneurs make to our region’s communities.” He said: “Not only do they help to drive economic growth, they deliver important social benefits too. They create jobs, they provide training and, they support local supply chains.

“Of course, businesses also build connections between people. And now, more than ever, building bridges really matters. That’s one of the many reasons I’m so pleased to see these Awards reaching further and further afield every year; to see people from so many different communities coming together in a spirit of celebration. Because the E3 Business Awards are here to celebrate the passion and creativity of North West businesses; they celebrate the vision of entrepreneurs; the dedication of employees; the conviction and compassion of social enterprises. They’re a celebration because every finalist has accomplished something special.”

The winning companies and individuals came from organisations across the North West, from Cumbria to Cheshire, Merseyside to Manchester.

The winners were:

New Business Start-Up of the Year:
Winner: Kettlebell Kitchen (Manchester, www.kettlebellkitchen.co.uk)
Award sponsor: Federation of Small Businesses

Corporate Social Responsibility Award:
Winner: net* (Kendal, www.wearenet.co.uk)
Award sponsor: O2 Business Centre Rainford

Charity of the Year:
Winner: Mancunian Way (Manchester, https://mancunianway.org.uk)
Award sponsor: One Agency

Social Enterprise of the Year:
Winner: Burnley Campus Social Enterprise (Burnley, www.burnleycampus.co.uk)
Award sponsor: Simply Doughnuts

Skills, Education and Training Award:
Winner: Coaching Connexions (Liverpool, www.coachingconnexions.co.uk)
Award sponsor: Fast Forward Growth

Employer of the Year:
Winner: Bridgewater Home Care (Wigan, www.bridgewaterhomecare.co.uk)
Award sponsor: Leisure Guard Security

Online Business of the Year:
Winner: The Cake Nest (Stockport, www.cakenest.co.uk)
Award sponsor: Etail Systems

Digital, Creative & Media Award
Winner: Single Malt Design (Lancaster, https://singlemaltdesign.co.uk)
Award sponsor: Global

Young Entrepreneur of the Year:
Winner: Aaron Crewe of novi.digital (Lancaster, httpss://novi.digital)
Award sponsor: University of Bolton

Outstanding Woman in Business Award:
Winner: Dionne Holdsworth of Burnley Campus (Burnley, www.burnleycampus.co.uk)
Award sponsor: Black Bear IT Solutions

Family Business of the Year
Winner: Nanny Brow B&B (Ambleside, www.nannybrow.co.uk)
Award sponsor: Business over Breakfast (North West)

Professional Firm of the Year
Winner: LegalforLandlords (Warrington, www.legalforlandlords.co.uk)
Award sponsor: 1 Events Media

Customer Service Award:
Winner: Involvement Packaging (Hyde, www.invopak.co.uk)
Award sponsor: ITM (part of the PC Edutech Group)

Manufacturing Business of the Year:
Winner: Packaging Automation (Knutsford, www.pal.co.uk)
Award sponsor: Powder Systems Limited

High Growth Business of the Year:
Winner: Exchange Utility (Bury, www.exchangeutility.co.uk)
Award sponsor: Fast Forward Growth

International Business of the Year:
Winner: Vision Support Services (Blackburn, www.visionsupportservices.com)
Award sponsor: Greater Manchester Chamber of Commerce

Business of the Year:
Winner: Clear Law LLP (Manchester, www.clearlawonline.co.uk)
Award sponsor: Affilius Group

Special Achievement Award:
Winner: Joanne Hunter of Grasmere Gingerbread (Cumbria, www.grasmeregingerbread.co.uk)
Award sponsor: London Stock Exchange Group plc

The E3 Business Awards are part of a programme of events that seek to help the region’s businesses to build links and strengthen the North West economy. Next on the calendar will be the E3 Business Expo, which will be held on 14th March 2018, also at the Macron Stadium.

Next year’s E3 Business Awards will take place on 12th July 2018 at the same venue. Nominations will open on 8th January.