E3 Business Awards 2019 took place on Thu 11th July 2019 view highlights

Latest News

March 8th 2017

Judges named for Y2017 E3 Business Awards

The judging panel for the 2017 E3 Business Awards has now been named. The organiser, 1 Events Media has selected a total of twenty-six judges from the fields of business, education and business support. The judges will apply their collective experience to assessing award nominations from companies, entrepreneurs and social enterprises across the North West.

There are eighteen award categories in all and nominations closed on Wednesday 19th April.

The judging process will entail an examination of written submissions followed by interviews with all shortlisted nominees. These will take place between 16th and 18th May at the Kilhey Court Macdonald Hotel in Standish.

The winners will be announced at the E3 Awards evening, which will take place on Thursday 13th July at the Macron Stadium in Bolton.

The judges are hoping to see nominations from mainstream businesses as well as groups that may be under-represented in traditional awards programmes – groups such as rural businesses, female entrepreneurs, social enterprises and those coping with disability. In order to keep a strong emphasis on diversity, 1EM has selected judges from different sectors, communities and business types.

The judges include:

 Amanda Gowans; Managing Director, Powder Systems Ltd, Liverpool
 Andrew Dewhurst; Managing Director, Affilius Group, Accrington
 Bev Butterworth; Business Manager, One Agecny Media, Manchester
 Brian Heyes; Area Director, HSBC Bank PLC, Preston
 Danny Callan; Director, Ice Box Designs, Manchester
 David Herington; CEO, Etail Systems, Barrow-in-Furness
 Fenner Pearson; Managing Director, Meantime IT, Kendal
 James Brayshaw; Managing Director, AdaptiveComms, Southport
 James Shelton; Managing Director, Marked Advantage, Manchester
 Jemma Taylor; Regional Sales Manager, Aldermore Group PLC, Peterborough
 John Daly; Partner: Corporate Finance, RSM, Preston
 Julie Robinson; Chief Executive Officer, Alliance Learning, Bolton
 Lisa Byrne; Director, One Agency Media, Manchester
 Lisa Edge; Director, Lancashare, Preston
 Liz Hey; Managing Director, Elizabeth Jane Associates, Rochdale
 Mark Fahy; Head of UK SMEs, London Stock Exchange Group, London
 Mark Law; Managing Director, Wilson Cooke, Bury
 Martin Heywood; Managing Director, Viva Blackpool, Fylde
 Martyn Shaw; Director, Business Development, University of Bolton
 Mike Orme; Founding Director, Fast Forward Growth, Blackburn
 Naomi Timperley; Co-Founder, Tech North Advocates, Macclesfield
 Paul Foster; Development Manager, Federation of Small Businesses, Lancashire & Cumbria
 Phil Burrows; Managing Director, PC Edutech Ltd, Bury
 Richard Alford; Managing Director, Blackbear IT Solutions, Lancaster
 Sajid Kadva; Operations Director, Leisure Guard Security, Bolton
 Stephen Pritchard; CEO, Matrix 247, Rossendale

“Each year, we’ve felt compelled to extend and enlarge the E3 Awards,” notes 1EM managing director, Mubarak Chati. “The scope and volume of previous entries prompted us to add two new award categories this year. As a result, we’ve also had to increase the capacity of the judging panels. This year, we’ll have two panel sessions on each of the three days so we can get through all eighteen categories.

“It’s a big task and I’m very grateful to our judges for volunteering their time – in some cases for more than one session. We rely on the judges to make the E3 Business Awards completely impartial and independent, and given the calibre of entrants in recent years, it’s certainly a challenge for everyone to agree the ultimate winners.”